Title of the document 💴 WIN CASH ON US 🎶NEW SONGS 🎶TRENDING
Home National NRM tribunal nullifies Henry Musasizi flagbearership, orders recount

NRM tribunal nullifies Henry Musasizi flagbearership, orders recount


RUBANDA– The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has ordered that the declaration of Henry Ariganyira Musasizi as the Rubanda Constituency East National Resistance (NRM) party flag bearer be set aside to pave way for re-tallying of 16 disputed polling stations.

This was in a verdict released on Tuesday evening signed by Enock Barata, the NRM’s Elections Dispute Tribunal Chairperson. This follows petition filed by Musasizi’s contender who is also the incumbent Rubanda district LC5 chairman Kenneth Jogo Biryabarema.

Musasizi, the incumbent legislator looking for third term was announced the winner on September 5th after collecting 23,330 defeating Biryabarema who garnered 22,412 votes.

However, the win sparked anger from Biryabarema and his supporters who accused Musasizi of conniving with the NRM district Registrar Aggrey Monday, Gaudioza Kabondo, an official from the party’s National Electoral Commission and Dezi Christmas, the district party administrator to rig votes.

Biryabarema on 8th this month through his lawyer M/S Bikangiso & Company Advocates petitioned NRM electoral Commission accused Monday of using a vehicle of Prossy Akampurira Mbabazi, a district woman
Member of Parliament while delivering declaration forms to sub-counties yet she was also a candidate.

He also faulted Monday for deliberately tallying votes wrongly with a mission of announcing Musasizi the winner, adding that a tally by his agents gave him a 51 per cent win over Musasizi. He also argued that registrars allowed Musasizi to sneak some of the declaration forms inside the tally centre for consideration while tallying.

In his defense, Musasizi argued that his supporters were denied chance to vote in most polling stations in Bubaare Sub County though he continued to fight and won. Today evening, Barata ordered in a judgment that results from 16 polling stations be re-tallied. Some of the contested villages include: Rwamate, Butaturwa, Rukinda, Kamusya B, Bwisa and Kitojo among others where figures were allegedly altered.

He ordered that re-tallying should be carried out with immediate effect in presence of both parties and a member of the tribunal. He added that after re-tallying it’s when, the winner will be announced.

Both Musasizi and Biryabarema did not pick our reporter’s phone calls to comment about the matter. Earlier anti-riot police spent the day in running battles with Biryabarema’s supporters in Bubaare Sub County and Hamuhambo town council who were protesting the delay to announce the verdict.

protestors who include Pulika Ainembabazi, Ivan Tumukunde, Betty Twikirize and Lilian Bwabuhe all protestors say that   they voted Biryabarema overwhelmingly but were surprised how Musasizi was declared winner.

Voters from Bubaare were intercepted and dispersed by Anti-riot police and Uganda People Defense Forces (UPDF) soldiers under the command of Tai Ramadhan, Rubanda District Police Commander at Muchahi tradince centre while blocking the road as they match to Rubanda district headquarters.

At Hamuhambo trading centre police and UPDF soldiers were forced to shoot live bullets and tear gas in the air after locals defied to calm down. Security officers also ordered all shops to close. 

Tai says that protestors should wait for the outcome but not resorting to rioting.